On Polanski

I don’t even, really, know what to say about this. I am completely disgusted at celebrities who have announced that we should “free Polanski” and it makes me sick to see some of my former favorite folks sign a petition to release a fucking child rapist.
Really, Martin Scorsese? Woody Allen? Tilda Swinton? COME ON.
I guess I don’t understand what the fuck the deal is. The facts are incredibly clear: Polanski drugged and raped a 13 year old when he was in his 40s. This is obviously rape. It isn’t, as Whoopi Goldberg said, “not really rape rape.” When someone says no, it is ALWAYS rape. How is that even a question? How is the idea that rapists should somehow be excused because they made good films (I’ve never seen a Polanski film and have no idea if they are any good, but it is totally irrelevant) even around?
I don’t think it’s worth talking–for me, anyway–about the legal issues in this case. As far as I’m concerned, Polanski absolutely should have been arrested, tried and imprisoned when the rape took place. Since that didn’t happen then it should happen now.End of story. Rape is a crime, no means no, etc, and I cannot fucking believe that this remains a surprising fact for some people. Plus, according to Shakesville, here’s what Polanski himself had to say at the time:

“If I had killed somebody, it wouldn’t have had so much appeal to the press, you see? But…fucking, you see, and the young girls. Judges want to fuck young girls. Juries want to fuck young girls. Everyone wants to fuck young girls!”

That should be enough, right there.
That is enough.

Much smarter folk than me have written about this, so read them:
Kate Harding
Bitch PhD
Melissa McEwan

Leave a Reply

