Recipe Time–Magic Mac and Cheese!

So I’m starting recipe blogging! woot! I shall start with one of my favorite recipes EVER. This is what I grab when I’m hungry and need something filling, easy and comfort food-ish. Adapted both from Nava Atlas’ Five Ingredient Vegetarian Gourmet and Martha Stewart’s Crack and Cheese.

Ingredients:
1 box pasta, preferably elbow. Penne works OK too, as do shells.
Cheese, at least 3 cups depending on how cheesy you want it to be. I sometimes use more or less, it really depends on what I’m feeling like. Any kind of cheese works. I use nonfat mozzarella if I’m looking for something a little healthier, with a healthy handful of sharp cheddar. Sharp cheddar is great in this. Some pepperjack can be good, too. Gruyere, especially smoked, is also yummy.
Pinch of cayenne
Tablespoon or so of mustard
3-4 tablespoons of skim milk
optional: bread crumbs

Cook the pasta til al dente.
Put milk in a pan and heat for a minute. Add other ingredients and mix until melty and gooey and yummy. Mix with pasta. Bake for 8-10 minutes at 200.

Leave a Reply

