Those Quiet Moments

Today was the last day of summer childcare at the church, and then some of the kids came over for cupcakes to celebrate my birthday.

As usual with childcare and with children anywhere it was noisy and chaotic. I like the noise and chaos of small children, but what I like more is the quiet moments. When the three month old grinned gummily. When the 20 month old stopped her screaming, even for a moment, to snuffle and lay her head on my shoulder. When the 2.5 year old curled into my lap, sucking her thumb. When the 7 year old leaned into me while I read about Alexander. While the 6 year old let me hold her, even though she’s so big, now.

Leave a Reply

