Thanks Giving

It’s a good exercise to remember what one is thankful for: it’s so easy to get caught up in the litany of things you DON’T have, rather than what you DO.

So, despite the fact that the historical narrative around Thanksgiving is bullshit and makes me angry, I always like to take a minute to remember what I’m thankful for today.

 

In no particular order:

I am thankful for my mom and dad, who have been as supportive as they can be.

I am thankful for my sister Ashley, and her dog Henry, for being marvelous and being a great big sister.

I am thankful for my sister Nicole, for being my best friend ever.

I am thankful for my dog, Zoe, who is the cutest thing in the entire world.

I am thankful for my friends.

I am thankful for my church, for the coworkers who make me laugh every day and are all so much fun, and for my coteachers, who I enjoy so much that I’d happily teach with them all day every day, and my youth, who constantly surprise and delight me with their kindness, humor and insight.

I am thankful for my shrink.

I am thankful for my ankle surgeon, for fixing my ankle.

I am thankful for books. God, I am thankful for books.

I am also thankful for television, because I love it.

I am thankful for Thanksgiving television specials, also.

I am thankful for technology, for my computer and camera and iPhone.

I am thankful for my safety.

I am thankful for music.

I am thankful for beautiful days, crisp days, long walks in the woods, rainy afternoons with books and hot chocolate. 

I am thankful for being alive, here, now, in a time when the world is going mad but at least I have all of the things above. 

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Just a comment on belief… atheists can be thankful,too. « Under The LobsterScope

Leave a Reply

